OKLAHOMA CITY - Seven members of the Region II Champion Northeastern A&M Lady Norse softball team were selected to the All-Region II recently team by coaches.

Six of coach Eric Iverson's squad was named to the first team and one player was placed on the second team. The Lady Norse captured the Region II title Sunday with a 4-2 victory over Connors State College at Oklahoma City's Don E. Porter Hall of Fame Stadium.

The ninth-ranked Lady Norse will represent the region in the Women's Division I National Junior College Athletic Association National Tournament May 17-19 in Plant City, Fla. NEO is 50-5 on the season.

After winning all four games during the post-season tournament, sophomore pitcher Candace Handley represented the Lady Norse on the first team. Entering the NJCAA National Tournament, Handley has compiled a 27-2 overall record in 168.2 innings of work. She allowed 24 earned runs for a 0.99 earned run average with 158 strikeouts and 36 walks.

Handley collected 76 hits for a .417 average in the leadoff spot that included six home runs.

Batterymate Shareena Pulse earned first team honors at catcher. Pulse, of Skiatook, hit .419 with 12 home runs. Pulse recorded 72 hits with 57 runs batted in.

Sophomore Melissa Moore of Rose State College earned first team honors at first base. Moore hit .445 with seven doubles, three triples, four home runs and 46 RBI.

Lady Norse double-play combination Maria Bernal and Shae Peterson were selected first team recipients at second base and shortstop.

Bernal, a sophomore from Tulsa, led the Lady Norse in hitting with a .458 average on 71 hits in 155 at-bats.

Peterson, a freshman from Broken Arrow, tied Pulse with 12 home runs while hitting .412 in 181 at-bats. Peterson also led NEO with 58 runs batted in.

Sophomore Ashley Geter of Northern Oklahoma College-Tonkawa earned all-region first team honors at third base. Geter hit .424 with seven home runs and 59 runs batted in and 46 runs scored for the Lady Mavericks.

Former Miami High School standout Becca Carden and freshman Leslie Hobbs, of Bristow, represented the Lady Norse in the first team outfield along with Kelly Lentz of NOC-Tonkawa.

Carden hit .408 with 71 total hits in 174 at-bats. She ranked third on the team with 49 RBI.

Hobbs collected 41 hits in 101 at-bats for a .406 average with six home runs and 30 runs batted in.

Lentz finished with a .404 batting average that included nine doubles, two triples and five home runs.

Freshman Amanda Tanner of Connors was selected first team as a utility player. Tanner hit .421 with 11 doubles and nine home runs for the Cowgirls.

Sophomore Benita Sanchez of NOC-Tonkawa was a first team selection as designated player. Sanchez led the Lady Mavericks with a .448 average that included nine doubles, four triples and six home runs.

Lady Norse freshman outfielder Tia Reich, of Broken Arrow, received All-Region II second team accolades. Reich, a left fielder, hit .384 with 31 RBI and three home runs.

All Region - 1st Team

Pitcher Sophomore Candace Handley Northeastern Oklahoma A&M

Catcher Sophomore Shareena Pulse Northeastern Oklahoma A&M

First Base Sophomore Melissa Moore Rose State College

Second Base Sophomore Maria Bernal Northeastern Oklahoma A&M

Third Base Sophomore Ashley Geter Northern Oklahoma College

Short Stop Freshman Shae Peterson Northeastern Oklahoma A&M

Outfield Freshman Kelly Lentz Northern Oklahoma College

Freshman Rebecca Carden Northeastern Oklahoma A&M

Freshman Leslie Hobbs Northeastern Oklahoma A&M

Utility Freshman Amanda Tanner Connors State College

DH Sophomore Benita Sanchez Northern Oklahoma College

All-Region - 2nd Team

Pitcher Freshman Lacy Lang Seminole State College

Catcher Sophomore Erica Holly Carl Albert State College

First Base Sophomore Kelly Littleton Carl Albert State College

Second Base Sophomore Natahlie Smith Seminole State College

Third Base Sophomore Jennifer Edwards Seminole State College

Short Stop Sophomore Kristie Goins Connors State College

Outfield Freshman Amber Canady Carl Albert State College

Sophomore Marissa Frisby Connors State College

Freshman Alex Vincent Eastern Oklahoma State College

Freshman Tia Reich Northeastern Oklahoma A&M

Utility Freshman Katie Carroll Seminole State College

DH Freshman Cody Slaughter Connors State College