Miami outfielder Keith Freeman has been named to the Oklahoma Coaches Association's Large East all-state baseball team.

Freeman becomes the Wardogs' first baseball all-stater since Matt Carnes.

“He deserves it, Miami coach Chris Mercer said. “People seem to focus on what he does offensively a lot of the time, but what he really can do is get the ball in center field. That is something we are going to miss. He can cover some ground out there.

Freeman, who has signed to play baseball at Seminole State College, had a .950 fielding average for the Dogs this season.

He hit .415 and he had nine doubles and six home runs while driving in 46 runs.

Freeman is Mercer's first all-stater.

“As good of teams we've had, I've never had an all-stater, Mercer said. I felt we should have had one a lot of years. But we haven't. We've had a lot of all-region players.

Joining Freeman on the Large East team are outfielder Dean Green and catcher Cory Haynes of 4A state champ Berryhill.

The Chiefs rolled to a 10-0 victory over MHS in the first round of the state tournament earlier this month in Shawnee.

Green struck out 10, walked one and allowed only one hit against the Wardogs.

Noticeably absent from the list: Wyandotte's Jared White, Oklahoma's career strikeout leader.

Classes 6A through 3A make up the large school teams while Classes 2A through B are included on the small school teams.

Wyandotte is a 3A entry.

Pitchers selected were Matt Hoffman of Owasso, Drew Rucinski of Union and Ada's Chad Palmer.

Others honored were McLoud catcher Tyler Haderer, Collinsville first baseman David Chester, McLoud outfielder Colby Herring, Union outfielder Houston Slemp, Owasso infielder Pete Kozma, Broken Arrow infielder Andy Wilkins, Bethel infielder Dylan Howard and Vian infielder Londell Taylor.

Pryor's Gerald Osborne will coach the Large East.

The all-state games will be played at the AT&T Bricktown Ballpark in Oklahoma City. The small school's game will be at 4:30 p.m. with the large school game set for 7 p.m.