The Buffalo Run Casino Classic has been one of the favorite stops on the NGA Hooters Tour.

The field for this year's event, which begins Thursday, points that out.

The past two champs - D.J. Fiese (2006) and Chris James (2005) - are entered.

There are five other winners from this season - Blaine Peffley, Brandon Brown, Rob Johnson, Nathan Smith and Michael Connell.

Fiese and James won the event with 24-under par 264s. James, of Edmond, smashed the Peoria Ridge course record with a third-round 61.

“I think it's going to be about the same (this year)- the scores are going to be low overall, Fiese said. “There may be a lot more guys in the mid-teens, low 20s this year. It will depend on how soft it is. From the few shots I got to hit today, the greens seem to have dried out pretty well.

But that was before overnight rains saturated the course - again.

The tournament will have a local flavor. Calvin Becker and Nolan Couch, who have signed to play golf at Northeastern A&M after completing stellar careers at Miami High School, will compete for a second straight year.

And Peoria Ridge pro Keith Neel will be in the 168-player field for the first time.

Robert Russell, a Joplin native now living in Overland Park, Kan., who was instrumental in getting the tournament set up in Miami, will be competing for a fifth straight years.

Oklahomans in the field include Cody Freeman of Afton, Stigler's Brad Risenhoover (cousin of MHS football coach Chris Risenhoover), Greg Mason and Ryan Henry of Tulsa, Brett Myers of Broken Arrow, Zac Reynolds and Derek Smith of Norman. Grant Downey of Sand Springs and Eric Moore of Owasso.

The 56 threesomes will begin to tee off at 7:30 a.m., taking off every nine minutes from the first and 10th tees.

The afternoon groups tee off starting at 12:30 p.m.