MIAMI — Northeastern Oklahoma A&M’s seventh national championship football team will be inducted into the NEO Athletic Hall of Fame Saturday, Sept. 15.

The 1986 Golden Norse team will be among eight individuals that will be honored including

Mike Butcher, baseball; Ronnie Lowe, football; Bill Yocum, football and wrestling; Dallas Kirk Lewis, women’s basketball; Kayce Grigg, softball; “Downtown” Terry Brown, men’s basketball, and Bennie Crossland and Jim Ellis, contributors.

Head coach Glen Wolfe guided the Golden Norse to an 11-0 record and an unprecedented seventh National Junior College Athletic Association national title.

NEO finished the season with a 38-7 victory over Montgomery, Maryland, in the Mid-America Bowl in Tulsa.

The Norse were led by All-Americans Mark Rice, John Boisvert, Tom Bolyard and Steve Hill.

Assistant coaches were Mack Butler, Dale Patterson, Don Hendrix, Bruce Scott, Greg Wolfe, Willie Webster, Rod Mathewson and Terry Jamison.

The induction ceremony for the team and the other honorees will take place at 12:30 p.m. in the Calcagno Family Ballroom in the Bruce G. Carter Student Union.

The group also will be recognized during NEO’s Southwest Junior College Football Conference opener against Trinity Valley (Texas) Community College.

Kickoff will be at 6 p.m.

Tickets for the game will be available at the gate.

For more information about the NEO Athletic Hall of Fame, contact Nancy Roberts at or call (918) 540-6327.