MIAMI — Bill Yocum knows what it is to be a Norseman.

Yocum, who played on a national champion football and coached football and wrestling at Northeastern Oklahoma A&M, will be inducted into the NEO Athletic Hall of Fame on Saturday, Sept. 15.

He’s one of eight individuals and one team that will be honored during a 12:30 p.m. luncheon at the Calcagno Family Ballroom in the Carter Student Union.

Other inductees will be Mike Butcher, baseball; Ronnie Lowe, football; “Downtown” Terry Brown, men’s basketball; Dallas Kirk Lewis, women’s basketball; Kayce Grigg, softball; Bennie Crossland and Jim Ellis, contributors, and the 1986 NJCAA national champion football team.

Yocum already is in the hall as a member of the ’69 national championship team, which was inducted in 2014.

After graduation from Bartlesville High School, Yocum attended NEO from 1969-1970, where he played football for hall of fame coach Chuck Bowman.

Yocum was a member of the 1969 national championship team and was the captain of the 1970 team.

He was named National Junior College Athletic Association and Gridwire All-American and was selected as one of the Outstanding College Athletes in America in 1970.

After NEO, Yocum lettered at Texas A&M.

Yocum returned to NEO as head wrestling and assistant football coach from 1977-80, where his 1978 wrestling team had a Top 10 finish at the NJCAA national tournament and the 1980 football team won the NJCAA national championship with a perfect 10-0 record.

He is one of only two NEO athletes to play and coach on a national championship team.

His NEO record as a player and coach is 51-7-1.

Yocum is retired and resides in Lewisville, Texas.

The inductees will also be honored at the half of NEO’s football game against Trinity Valley.

Kickoff is at 6 p.m.

Tickets for the event are on sale now.

For more information about the NEO Athletic Hall of Fame, contact Nancy Roberts at or call 918-540-6327.