MIAMI — Tim Allen, who guided Laverne to a pair of Class B state championships, will be inducted into the Oklahoma Eight Man Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

He will be recognized during the annual awards banquet Friday, June 15.

He also will be recognized at the half of the all star game which will be at 6 p.m. Saturday, June 16.

The banquet, at the Calcagno Family Ballroom in the Carter Student Union at Northeastern A&M, starts at 7 p.m.

“It’s very humbling to me to join that very prestigious group of coaches,” said Allen, now principal at Laverne Elementary School.

Allen becomes the 50th member of the OEMFCA Hall — 36 coaches and 14 contributors.

In his nomination letter for Allen, former Commerce coach John Greenfield, now head coach at Davenport, said: “Tim’s football philosophy comes down to one question — what is best for our kids? Whether it’s Xs and Os or discipline, its what’s best for the kids. I don’t believe there is a selfish bone in his body. His success speaks for itself at Laverne, winning several state championships and coaching honors.”

Greenfield continued: “Tim’s teams were always prepared and you got Laverne’s best effort each week on the playing field.”

Allen, who spent 17 years at Laverne, was 100-46 as the Tigers’ head coach.

Laverne was winless in 2003 then went 3-7 in 2004 and 2005.

“In 2005, our last game (in 11-man) I had 13 kids suited up,” he said. “We were playing Texoma, which was runner-up, and they beat us 33-32 that night. We had 16 out and 13 suited up.”

The school transitioned to eight-man the following season and finished 7-4.

They then started a run of 12 straight playoff appearances and four trips to the Class B finals.

Laverne lost to Garber in the 30-26 in the 2008 title game — the first time the school had ever had a team in any sport reach the finals.

“Garber wins with 46 seconds left with a fingertip catch down on the half-yard line,” Allen said.

The Tigers won back-to-back state titles in 2012 and 2013, going unbeaten both years.

Laverne came close to a three-peat in 2014, but dropped a wild 68-64 decision to Alex in the Class B final.

That snapped a 40-game winning streak.

He was an assistant to Chris Cayot in 2016 when the Tigers went 15-0 and won another state title.

“We were knocking on the door for several years and just never could — we were in the semifinals several times — get over the hump,” Allen said. “We just worked harder and came closer together as a team. (We) had a total commitment as a team. It was a big-time sacrifice by our players and ‘we were just going to do this’ and we did.”

Also at the banquet, $11,000 in scholarships will be awarded.

Ten players will receive $1,000 scholarships. Two all-star cheerleaders also will receive $500 scholarships.

Offensive and defensive players of the year and head coach and assistant of the year in each classification will be recognized.

“There were great coaches and great comradery in the eight-man coaches association — just a fantastic bunch of people,” Allen said. “There were some great memories.”

This will be the 16th year the game will be played in northeastern Oklahoma.

The game was played in Alva from 1973 to 2002, at Northeastern A&M from 2003-06, at Commerce from 2007-09 because of extensive damage to the NEO facilities from the massive flooding, at NEO in 2010-12, at Commerce in 2013 while Red Robertson Field was having turf and new lights installed, then back to Robertson Field in 2014.

“It’s a phenomenal facility there now,” Allen said. “It’s just a special place to come play.”

Kickoff is set for 6 p.m. on Saturday, June 16 at Red Robertson Field.

Coaches for the game include Josh Bell, Tyrone; Travis White, Tipton; Adam Bishop, Regent Prep; Shane Weathers, Coyle; Chris Cayot, Laverne; Gus Overstreet, Pioneer; Trevor Knight, Cyril; Josh Been, Dewar; Dickey Smith, Depew, and Tom Osburn, Cave Springs.

Counselors include Tony Tomberlin, Ryan; Tyler Douthit, Strother; Johnnie Loggins, Wetumka; Travis Banning, Tyrone; Mark Timberlake, Waukomis, and Scott Douthit, Strother.

The OEMFCA executive committee includes Mike Thompson, Medford, executive director; Been, associate executive director; Bryce Schanbacher, Cherokee, president, and Larry Crenshaw, Wetumka, vice president.

Tickets for the game are $5 each. They can be purchased in advance at the Miami Convention & Visitors Bureau (111 North Main) and at the gate.