LUBBOCK, Texas — After opening the single elimination Women’s Division I NJCAA National Tournament on Monday against No. 20 seed Trinity Valley Community College from Athens, Texas, No. 13 seed Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College hopes to get past the first two rounds unlike the

last two tournaments.

While making their third straight visit to the Rip Griffin Center on the campus of Lubbock Christian University, the NEO Lady Norse (27-4)

carried an 18-game winning streak into the first round.

Winner of the NEO-Trinity Valley game (27-5) enjoy a day off Tuesday before resuming play at 1 p.m. Wednesday against No. 4 seed Jones County Junior College from Ellisville, Mississippi.

The Bobcats enter the tournament with a 26-3 season record.

Under head coach Jim Rowland’s guidance, the Lady Norse have played in five National Junior College Athletic Association National Tournaments dating back to 2006-07.

After finishing seventh in 2006-07, the Lady Norse placed eighth in 2011-12.

Last season the Lady Norse entered the 24-team tournament at the 11th seed and started the weeklong event with a 73-45 victory over Iowa Western.

Squaring off against the Trinity Valley in the second round, NEO suffered a 67-53 loss.

During the 2016 national tournament, the Lady Norse beat Lake Region (North Dakota) State College, 84-40, in the first round and then were eliminated 61-59 by New Mexico Junior College.

Competing in a double-elimination format in 2012, the No. 11 seed Lady Norse started the tournament — then held in Salina, Kansas — with a 52-42 loss to No. 6 seed New Mexico Junior College.

NEO was eliminated following a 62-49 loss to No. 14 seed Southwestern Illinois College in the second round.

Entering the 2007 national tournament as the No. 13 seed, the Lady Norse upset No. 4 seed Monroe N.Y. Community College, 76-67.

The Lady Norse dropped a 73-53 decision to Central Arizona in the second game before being eliminated, 58-47, by Copiah-Lincoln, Mississippi.

During the 44-year modern day history of the Lady Norse program, NEO has made 11 appearances in the national tournament. Coach B.J. Smith’s 2001-02 team finished second as did coach Randy Gipson’s 1990-91 squad.