MIAMI — Northeastern Oklahoma A&M head wrestling coach Joe Renfro learned one thing Saturday, Oct. 28 during the annual Blue/Gold scrimmage: not many weights are settled.

“This was probably one of our most competitive Blue/Gold duals since we started,” Renfro said. “Not very many weights were settle for now, most of them will drag on all year long with battles every weekend to prove who the best really is.

“That’s what we need, constant reminders of why we can’t let up in order to achieve our goal.”

The Blue logged a 52-51 victory in the dual despite winning only 11 of the 24 matches, but picked up more bonus points, according to Renfro.

Defending national champ Wyatt Jordan of Collinsville, wrestling for the Blue team, defeated Colin Brennan, a redshirt sophomore from Newport Center, Vermont.

Chattanooga, Tennessee, sophomore Devin Crawl, the only other returning member of NEO’s national tournament team, lost to the Gold’s Jacob Mintzmyer, a freshman from Marysville, Kansas.

“There were a lot of good match ups and very even pairings,” Renfro said. “The wager this year had the losing team wearing their headgear all day on Monday, to class, lunch, etc., and it appeared neither team was willing to do so without a fight.

“Even though it was only an intersquad, the guys have to learn that for every action there is a reaction. For every competition, there are consequences. The guys wrestled extremely tough.”

Results of the other matches included Skye Paulk (Blue) def. Preston Golden; Jordan Dieringer (Gold) def. Zeke Silva; Boo Dryden (Blue) def. Mikey Mascarenas; Paul Mascarenas (Gold) def. Lantz Woodburn; Jack Karstetter (Gold) def. Cooper Secker; Brandon Johnson (Gold) def. Jeremy Fuentes; Cody Karstetter (Gold) def. Jory Brumnett; Josh Moore (Gold) def. Sam Shore; Joe Tillman (Gold) def. Michael Fernandez; Kendon Lee (Blue) def. Cody Rains; Marqual Graham (Gold) def. Henry Brown; Zeke Rubio (Blue) def. Justin Peterson; Kyle Caldwell (Blue) def. Trevor VanVliet; Carlos Diaz (Blue) def. Christian Rosales; Jaron Beeson (Gold) def. D.J. Kessler; Alex Kauffman (Blue) def. Kole Rollins; Justin Cates (Gold) def. Taylor Cook; Johathan Waters (Blue) def. Bryce Logan; Brian Andrews (Gold) def. Russell Coats; Ben Elledge (Blue) def. Dion Brown; Grant Sullivan (Gold) def. Skye Paulk, and Gus Boyd (Blue) def. Jordan Dieringer.

“From the weekend, we seem to have an exciting year ahead of us,” Renfro said. “From now on, it’s us against everyone with a wrestling team.”

The Norsemen open the season Sunday, Nov. 5 at the Oklahoma City University Open.