The election filing period has ended and the candidates for primaries and some November Oklahoma local and state races are set. It looks to be an intense election cycle with many candidates for voters to cast their ballots on decision making primary and election days, according to the listed filings from the Oklahoma State Election Board.


Two Democratic candidates have filed for Governor, Connie Johnson of Forest Park, and Drew Edmondson from Oklahoma City. They will be vying for the position with 10 Republican candidates, Barry Gowdy of Elk City, Gary Richardson of Tulsa, Christopher Barnett of Tulsa, Mick Cornett of Oklahoma City, Dan Fisher of El Reno, Todd Lamb of Oklahoma City, Kevin Stitt of Tulsa, Eric Foutch of McLoud, Gary A. Jones of Cache and Blake Cowboy Stephens of Tahlequah.

Three Libertarian candidates have filed, Joe Exotic of Wynnewood, Chris Powell of Bethany, and Rex L. Lawhorn of Broken Arrow.

Lt. Governor

The Lt. Governor's race drew two Democrats, Anastasia A. Pittman of Oklahoma City and Anna Dearmore of Okmulgee, to run against four Republican candidates Matt Pinnell of Tulsa, Eddie Fields of Wynona, Dominique DaMon Block of Oklahoma City and Dana Murphy of Edmond, along with Independent candidate Ivan Holmes of Oklahoma City.

Oklahoma State Auditor and Inspector

Seeking the office of State Auditor and inspector will be Republicans Cindy Byrd of Coalgate, Charlie Prater of Edmond and John Uzzo of Tahlequah, as well a Libertarian candidate John Yeutter.

Oklahoma Attorney General

Three candidates are throwing their names in for the office of Attorney General; Democrat Mark Myles of Oklahoma City, and Republicans Mike Hunter of Edmond, Gentner Drummond of Hominy and Angela Bonilla of Glenpool.

Oklahoma State Treasurer

State Treasurer drew just two candidates; Republican Randy McDaniel of Edmond will square off with Independent Charles de Coune of Oklahoma City.

State Superintendent of Public Instruction

In an important year for Oklahoma education, voters can choose from six candidates running for State Superintendent; Democrat John Cox of ?Peggs, Republicans Joy Hofmeister of Tulsa, Linda Murphy of Edmond and Will Farell of Tulsa and Independent Larry Huff of Oklahoma City.

State Commissioner of Labor

After primaries these candidates will make a run for State Commissioner of Labor office; Democrat Sam A.Mis-Soum of Tulsa, and Fred Dorrell of Broken Arrow, Republicans Keith Swinton of Norman, Cathy Costello of Edmond, and Leslie Osborn of Mustang and Independent Brant Dismukes of Oklahoma City.

Oklahoma Insurance Commissioner

Either Republicans Glen Mulready of Tulsa and Donald Chasteen of Inola will be running for Insurance Commissioner against Democrat Kimberly Fobbs of Tulsa.

Oklahoma Corporation Commissioner

The race for Corporation Commissioner has drawn Democratic candidates Ken Reich of Idabel, Beau Williams of Edmond, Ashley Nicole McCray of Norman and Blake Cummings of Maud, as well as Republican candidates Brian Bingham of Sapulpa, Bob Anthony of Oklahoma City and Harold D. Spradling of Cherokee, and Independent candidate Jackie Short of Oklahoma City.