The Quapaw and Peoria Tribes of Oklahoma have elections scheduled for this April.

QUAPAW/MIAMI– Two local tribes have upcoming elections with four candidates each to fill top positions in tribal committees and councils.

The Quapaw and Peoria Tribes of Oklahoma have elections scheduled for this April to be voted on by eligible tribal members to fill these seats.

Quapaw Tribe

The second highest seat on the Quapaw Tribe of Oklahoma's Tribal Business Committee is set for a special election on April 14.

A complete list of certified candidates declaring candidacy for the Vice-Chairman position are; Callie Darr, Mitch Albright, Carol Green and James Gilmore, according to Secretary of the Quapaw Tribal Election Board Janna McCormick’s official posting.

The April special election is scheduled in order to replace Thomas Mathews who resigned from his position. Mathews plead guilty to a federal charge of attempted enticement of a minor and was indicted and is awaiting sentencing on June 6.

Mathews ran unopposed and was elected July 22, 2017, as Vice-Chairman of the Business Committee.

The Vice-Chairman position holds a term of two years as do all elected officers of the government of the Quapaw Tribe.

The Tribe’s election ordinance of 2004 calls for a special election within 60 business days of a vacancy on the Quapaw Tribe’s Business Committee to fill the unexpired term.

Only registered voters, voters of Quapaw blood or enrolled tribal members, may vote in a Quapaw Tribal election. To become a registered voter, a person must be a tribal member including members by blood only and those on approved rolls or descendants of those on approved rolls and be at least 18 years of age on the date of the election.

Voters can cast votes at the polling place form 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. April 14 at the Quapaw Tribal Complex.

Peoria Tribe

The Election Committee of the Peoria Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma has announced a Special Election scheduled for Saturday, April 21 for the position to be filled of Second Councilman for the remainder of a four-year term expiring March 2021.

Four candidates have announced candidacy; Paul “PJ” Attocknie Jr., Shanon Buckingham, Hank Downum, and Kara D. North.

The polling place will be at the Peoria Tribal Administration Building Conference Room, 118 South Eight Tribes Trail, Miami, Oklahoma, from 7 a.m. to Noon on April 21.

Any member of the Peoria Tribe, as defined in Article III, Section 1 – MEMBERSHIP OF TRIBE, of the Constitution of the Peoria Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma, shall be eligible to vote, provided the member is 18 years of age or over on the date of the election. Each member will be required to show proof of identification at each election in the form of a government-issued photo identification showing their name to match the Official Voters’ List provided by the Tribal Enrollment Office.

The ballots will be counted and tabulated and the results announced immediately. In the event no candidate receives a majority vote, the Peoria Election Committee will immediately call for a run-off election. Polls for a run-off election shall remain open from 1 p.m. until 3 p.m. Balloting will continue (by call of the Election Committee) until one candidate receives a clear majority of total votes cast.