The ninth annual Miami Regional Chamber of Commerce Awards Gala honored businesses and individuals for excellence in Ottawa County across six award categories.

MIAMI – The Miami Regional Chamber of Commerce held its ninth annual Awards Gala, Wednesday, Feb. 15, recognizing excellence in Ottawa County.

The event presents six awards with five of the categories comprised of three nominees for selection. Each year, an individual is also selected for the Impact Award, which recognizes significant and long-term community contributions.

The MRCC 2018 winners and nominees are:

New Business of the Year: Thulin Automotive.

Nominees: Five Alarm Athletics and myPrint

Business of the Year: Bearskin Healthcare & Wellness Center.

Nominees: First National Bank & Trust Co. of Miami and Brown-Winter Funeral Home &Cremation Service

Industry of the Year: Quapaw Tribe of Oklahoma.

Nominees: Larco Enterprises, Inc. and the City of Commerce

Non-profit of the Year: Boys & Girls Club of Ottawa County.

Nominees: Rotary Club of Miami and Oklahoma Emergency Response Team

Excellence in Education: Angie Douthit, Miami Public Schools

Nominees: Teresa Colby Northeast Tech and Dr. Seonae Ha-Birdsong, NEO A&M College

Impact Award: Vicki Lewis, former Miami Public Schools educator and principal, current Wyandotte Elementary School principal, and City of Miami councilwoman.