OKLAHOMA CITY — Miami attorney Charles W. “Chuck” Chesnut was elected to serve on the Oklahoma Bar Association’s Board of Governors as the 2018 president-elect.

He will be a part of the OBA’s 17-member Board of Governors, which meets monthly and governs the association.

Chesnut is a solo practitioner in Miami. He is a third-generation Oklahoma lawyer. He was born and raised in Miami and upon graduation from high school, he attended OU where he received his bachelor’s degree in business administration in 1974.

He graduated from the OU College of Law in 1977. His main areas of practice are real estate, probate and estate planning.

He is a member and past president of the Ottawa County Bar Association. He served as U.S. magistrate judge (part-time) for the U.S. District Court, Northern District of Oklahoma from 1983-1987 and was a temporary panel judge for the Oklahoma Court of Appeals in 1991-1992.

He is a past member of the OBA Young Lawyers Division Board of Directors, a sustaining member of the Oklahoma Bar Foundation, was a trustee of the OBF from 1993-2000 and served as OBF president in 1999.

He also served on the OBA Board of Governors from 2009-2011. He is a member of the Real Property Law, Estate Planning and Probate and Law Office Management and Technology sections and has been a member of numerous OBA committees, currently serving on the Budget Committee.

He is active in his community having served as a member of the Miami Board of Education for 17 years and as its president for a number of those years.

He is a member and past president of the Miami Chamber of Commerce. He also volunteers as a mentor to a fifth-grade elementary school class one afternoon per week during the school year.

Kimberly K. Hays of Tulsa will fill the role of president, and Richard Stevens of Norman will serve as vice president.

Linda S. Thomas of Bartlesville, who serves as the 2017 OBA president, will remain on the OBA Board of Governors for one year as immediate past president.

Also elected to the OBA Board of Governors to represent their respective Supreme Court judicial districts are Brian T. Hermanson of Newkirk, D. Kenyon Williams Jr. of Tulsa and Matthew C. Beese of Muskogee. They will serve three-year terms.

Brian K. Morton of Oklahoma City will also serve a three-year term as a member at large. Nathan D. Richter of Mustang will serve a one-year term as OBA Young Lawyers Division chairperson.

New officers and Board of Governors members will take office Jan. 1, 2018.

OBA leadership roles are voluntary positions in which lawyers serve while continuing to practice law.

Other bar business conducted at Annual Meeting included the presentation of awards and the House of Delegates actions, in which Title Examination Standards were approved.

The House of Delegates also approved six resolutions regarding trusts, changes in member classifications, standards for defense of capital punishment cases and representatives to the House of Delegates.

The 17,600-member Oklahoma Bar Association, headquartered in Oklahoma City, was created by the Oklahoma Supreme Court to advance the administration of justice and to foster and maintain learning, integrity, competence, public service and high standards of conduct among Oklahoma’s legal community.