Six all-staters will be on the rosters for the 31st annual Lake O’ the Cherokees Basketball Classic May 14 at Vinita.

Five of the all-staters will be playing for the North — Macy Gibson and Ryan Markes of Afton and Dee Willis, Tosha Tyler and Kelby Fritz of Vinita.

The South roster features Oral Roberts University signee Kevi Luper of Adair.

Luper, named The Oklahoman’s 2009 Super Five Player of the Year, and Tyler were named to both the Oklahoma Coaches Association and Oklahoma Girls Basketball Coaches Association all-state teams.

Fritz and Gibson were OCA honorees.

The games will be played at the James E. Sooter Activities Center at Vinita. The girls’ game tips off at 6:30 p.m. followed by the boys’ contest at 8 p.m.

Joining Tyler, Fritz and Gibson on the North girls roster are Ashley Carroll and Darby Todd of Afton, Kayla Chapa of Quapaw, Abbi Munson of Wyandotte, Margaret Pogue and Stacia Sarwinski of Grove and Samantha Skinner of Vinita.

Miami’s Sarah Rhodes and Taylor Iverson of Vinita were chosen as North alternates.

Kara Kinney of Wyandotte and Gerald Sergeant of Afton will be the coaches.

Joining Markes and Willis — both OCA all-staters — on the North boys squad will be James Pickens and Trent Turner of Miami, Shawn Free of Afton, Brandon Rollet of Quapaw, Shane Friend of Wyandotte, Trent Winters and Tyler Spychalski of Grove and Chris Page of Vinita.

Afton’s Tony Jarvis and Adam Ramsey of Vinita are alternates.

David Markes of Afton and Aaron Bland of Quapaw will be the North boys’ coaches.

The South girls’ roster includes Luper and Tasha Dove of Adair, Tinelle Williams and Sammi Jo Place of Colcord, Rachel Sordahl of Pryor, Sam Robertson and Ashley Shrum of Jay, Wynter Cunningham of Oaks, Sarah Moore of Chouteau and Brittany Stone of Locust Grove.

Kelby Budder and Kaiti Wheeler of Jay are the alternates for the South girls.

Mark Sherrell of Colcord and Terry Sweeney of Jay will be the coaches.

The South boys’ roster includes Chad Hough of Oaks, Trevor Montgomery and Jordan Monjoy of Salina, Kenzie Witt and Kylan Canoe of Colcord, Brooke Hall and Phillip Galvan of Pryor, Cedrick Grass of Jay and Shade Kirtley and Chris Vallery of Chouteau.

Two more Chouteau players — Tyler Perry and Wes Stafford — are the alternates for the South boys.

Norman Hall of Pryor and Travis Wheeler of Chouteau will be the South boys’ coaches.

Jim Ellis, 542-5533, ext. 3052