Senior Grant Longcrier was honored as the most valuable player for the Miami High School football team during its annual awards banquet Thursday night.

Longcrier rushed for 667 yards and seven touchdowns and caught 28 passes for 578 yards and another eight TDs.

He was the Dogs’ leading scorer with 92 points.

Longcrier also posted 40 assisted and 17 unassisted tackles on defense.

The Wardogs went 7-5 and finished third in 5A-3 with a 5-2 record. They upset Tulsa East Central in the first round of the playoffs then were bumped off by El Reno 14-7 in a game that saw the Indians get the game-winning TD with no time remaining.

“We had a fantastic year that left us with a lot of memories,” head coach Chris Risenhoover said. “We became a very, very good defensive team. Hopefully that will continue and hopefully we will get deeper and deeper into the playoffs.”

This marked the fifth straight year for Miami to reach post-season play under Risenhoover.

“We had some gut-wrenching losses but I am proud and happy with the memories we had this season,” he said.

Players, support staff, coaches, cheerleaders and dance team members were recognized during the banquet.

Nathan Hazley was named the defensive player of the year and Trent Turner was the offensive player of the year for the Wardogs.

Hazley was the defensive lineman of the year and Turner was named the offensive player of the year in District 5A-3.

Lineman Curtis Chambers, Hazley and Turner were named to the 5A all-star by class team. As a result, the trio are eligible for consideration for Oklahoma Coaches Association all-state honors.

Other players receiving team awards were:

4 Ironman — Josh White.

4 Big stick — Cody Sharp.

4 Top competitor — Butch Flick.

4 Outstanding offensive back — Longcrier.

4 Co-outstanding offensive lineman — Kaden Nicholas and Chambers.

4 Special teams player of the year — Seth Rhodes.

4 Outstanding defensive back — James Pickens.

4 Outstanding defensive lineman — Caleb Thyer.

4 Outstanding linebacker — Chad Johnston.

Outstanding lifters during the summer off-season Summer Pride program included Nicholas and Grant Bigby, seniors; Sharp, juniors, and Austin Hipkins, sophomores.

Longcrier, Nicholas and Thyer were awarded scholarships from the Miami Wardog Football Booster Club.

New officers for the 2009 season were introduced.

They include Chad Julian, president; Jeff Thyer, vice president; Jennifer Hessee, secretary, and Janet Palmer, treasurer.