Miami will be the first stop for the University of Kansas Jayhawk Summer Tour, featuring staff members from the University, the Alumni Association and Kansas Athletics.

The event — a golf outing followed by a dinner — will be Friday at the Peoria Ridge Golf Course starting at 11:30 a.m. 

The event is sponsored by the Tri-State Chapter of the KU Alumni Association.

The Tri-State Chapter includes Wilson, Neosho, Crawford, Montgomery, Labette and Cherokee counties in southeast Kansas, the 647 and 648 zip codes in southwest Missouri and the 743 zip code in northeastern Oklahoma.

More information on the event may be found by visiting the KU Alumni Chapter page at

All Jayhawk alumni, fans and friends are invited to the event. Fans can pick up 2010 commemorative football items and have a chance to win autographed merchandise and Jayhawk apparel.

“The KU Alumni Association has spent considerable energy building powerful Jayhawk chapters throughout Kansas, the nation and the world,” Kevin Corbett, president of the KU Alumni Association, said in a release. “The Jayhawk Summer Tour will be yet another example of our unwavering commitment to engage alumni and friends to strengthen the University of Kansas.”

The Jayhawk Summer Tour is a collaboration between Kansas Athletics and the KU Alumni Association, who have partnered to bring the University of Kansas to Jayhawk fans across Kansas and a five-state area.

“We have wonderful fans who often travel a great distance to Lawrence to watch games and visit the University,” KU Athletics Director Lew Perkins said in the release. “The Jayhawk Tour provides us an opportunity to reach out to those fans and bring the University of Kansas and Kansas Athletics to them.”

The release did not say which KU coaches would make the trip to Miami, which is one of three out-of-state stops for the Jayhawk Summer Tour.

Others are June 21 at Castle Rock, Colo., and June 28 at St. Louis, Mo.

Kansas stops include Garden City (Saturday), Salina (June 19), Liberal (June 25), Wichita (July 29), Topeka (July 29), Prairie Village (Aug. 20) and Winfield (Sept. 23).