A third-period pin by heavyweight Tyler Morris sealed the deal for Joplin, Mo., Saturday afternoon as the Eagles won the championship at the IBC Mudville Duals.

The win by Morris against Tyler Johnson gave the Eagles a 45-33 victory over Grove, which is the defending Class 3A team champ in Oklahoma.

A pin by Grove’s Weston Culvey at 215 cut Joplin’s lead down to six points, heading into the final match.

Johnson had led 1-0 heading into the third period, but Morris took the lead with a takedown and turned that into his clinching pin.

“We hope this will be a good springboard for us,” Joplin coach Shawn Finch said. “We’ve been telling the kids all along that they’ve got what it takes to win. I think now they believe it.”

Miami finished eighth overall following a 66-18 loss to Independence, Kan.

The Wardogs also lost to Indy 60-30 in pool competition.

McDonald County, Mo., clipped Miami 48-33 in the semifinals.

The Wardogs split their six pool matches, beating Coffeyville, Kan., 54-39; Bentonville, Ark., 54-26, and Tahlequah 47-29.

In addition to the loss to Independence, the Wardogs lost to Joplin 63-12 and Piedmont 58-18.

In other matches in the final round, it was Piedmont 43, Owasso 33, third; Webb City, Mo. 49, McDonald County, Mo. 30, fifth; Bentonville, Ark.. 52, Caney, Kan. 30, ninth, and Tahlequah 54, Pryor 24, 11th.

This is the Eagles’ first tournament title in five seasons under Finch.

“Coming in, we really didn’t know what to expect,” Finch said. “You never now when you wrestle teams from other states. We wrestled a tough dual against Neosho on Thursday, and the guys really didn’t show up for it.

“We got some momentum and were able to keep it all the way through the Grove match. We haven’t wrestled all the way through the lineup like that. They didn’t quit or they didn’t give up. They went hard the whole match.”

Joplin had five pins against Grove, including the clincher by Harris.

The Eagles had opened up a 27-18 lead after Austin Karns pinned Jarrod Leach at 145.

An 11-6 decision by Connor Sarwinski at 152 started a rally that saw the Ridgerunners win four of the next five matches, all on pins by Dusty Gehrke, Michael Fenlon and Culvey.

It was a forfeit win by Miles Copple at 171 pounds that made the difference, breaking a 27-27 tie and giving Joplin the lead for good.

Blaine Fields was Miami’s only representative on the all-tournament team.

Fields went 8-0 in the tournament, logging six pins and two forfeit wins.

Colby Anderson was 7-1 as the Dogs’ 130-pounder. He had five pins, two forfeits and a decision.

Caleb Potter, Grant Bigby and Brandon Alley all were 4-4.

All of Bigby’s wins were by forfeit while Potter and Alley each had three pins and a forfeit.

The results

Final round — Joplin 45, Grove 33, championship; Piedmont 43, Owasso 33, third; Webb City, Mo. 49, McDonald County, Mo. 30, fifth; Independence, Kan., 66, Miami 18; Bentonville, Ark.. 52, Caney, Kan. 36, ninth; Tahlequah 54, Pryor 24, 11th.

Semifinals — Grove 44, Piedmont 25; Webb City 43, Independence 42 (tiebreaker); Joplin 48, Owasso 33; Caney 36, Tahlequah 33; McDonald County 48, Miami 33; Bentonville 60, Pryor 22.

Round 7 — Piedmont 69, Tahlequah 18; Grove 57, McDonald County 18; Joplin 63, Miami 12; Owasso 63, Mystery Team 12; Webb City 51, Pryor 24; Independence 66, Coffeyville 18.

Round 6 — Joplin 35, Piedmont 26; Owasso 41, McDonald County 33; Tahlequah 39, Bentonville 36; Independence 60, Miami 30; Pryor 39, Mystery Team 18; Webb City 48, Caney 35.

Round 5 — Webb City 51, Mystery Team 29; Piedmont 53, Bentonville 24; Joplin 76, Tahlequah 6; Pryor 36, Caney 30; Miami 54, Coffeyville 39; Grove 48, Owasso 30.

Round 4 — Miami 54, Bentonville 26; Independence 67, Tahlequah 12; Grove 45, Pryor 28; McDonald County 38, Webb City 37; Piedmont 56, Coffeyville 20; Owasso 48, Caney 30.

Round 3 — Joplin 67, Bentonville 12; Caney 60, Mystery Team 18; McDonald County 45, Pryor 34; Grove 48, Webb City 29; Piedmont 52

All-tournament team

103 — Brycen Miner, Joplin, Mo.

112 — Nate Hudson, Caney, Kan.

119 — Caleb Bourland, Bentonville, Ark.

125 — Dakota Goins, Owasso

130 — Spencer Rutherford, Grove

135 — Richard Rogers, Webb City, Mo.

140 — Blaine Fields, Miami

145 — Austin Karns, Joplin, Mo.

152 — Connor Sarwinski, Grove

160 — Tatyn Fee, Pryor

171 — Jake Price, Caney, Kan.

189 — Justin Jacks, Webb City, Mo.

215 — Matt Horton, McDonald County, Mo.

Hwt — Dakota Denny, Caney, Kan.