Ted Potter feels he’s still doing things right, but the results haven’t been the.

Potter, the NGA Hooters Tour’s player of the year in 2009 after posting three wins and pocketing $181,104, is well down the pecking order this year.

He can make big strides this week during the Buffalo Run Casino Classic, which starts Thursday at Peoria Ridge Golf Course.

“Compared to last year, I’m not playing as well, but I still feel I am hitting the ball all right,” Potter said. “I just haven’t been scoring as well.”

Last year, Potter carded rounds of 70, 68, 65 and 65 and outlasted Martin Flores in a four-hole playoff to nail down the victory here.

He finished with a 20-under par 268.

Potter has finished in the money in all six of his 2010 starts, his best showing a tie for second in the Ocala Marion Sports Commission Classic.

He’s won $21,271 thus far, trailing leader Mark Blakefield by a wide margin.

Potter likes the course, despite the fact that it’s been a very wet spring.

“It’s usually a little soft, but the greens are always in good shape,” he said. “Actually the fairways are in better shape this year even though it’s a little wetter.”

Potter, who has $467,977 in career earnings, is tied for fifth in all-time wins on the NGA Hooters Tour with Elliot Gealy, Michael Connell and Eric Johnson. Each had picked up five wins.

A victory here would move him into a tie with Dicky Thompson and Tommy Biershenk.

Chad Campbell, who has four PGA Tour victories to his credit, including the 2004 Tour Championship, is the Hooter’s Tour career leader in wins (13) and earnings ($776,976).

Potter had hoped to earn a spot in this week’s Nationwide Tour Fort Smith (Ark.) Classic but missed out during Monday’s qualifier.

“I didn’t get off to a very good start on the first nine,” he said. “I shot 68 and it took 65 to get in.”

Blakefield is among 11 of the season’s top 20 money winners who are in the field for this year’s tournament.

Blakefield is the season’s only double winner, taking first at the Ocala Marion Sports Commission Classic and the 2010 ADI Classic.

Others entered are No. 4 Matthew Harmon, No. 8 Travis Bertoni, No. 11 Patrick Nagle, No. 12 Matthew Anderson, No. 14 David Skinns, No. 15 Jeff Corr (the 2008 BRCC winner), No. 16 Nick Rousey, No. 17 Todd Bailey, No. 19 Philip Pettitt Jr., and No. 20 Yohann Benson.

Harmon and Bertoni also have posted wins this season.

Among the Oklahomans in the field are former Peoria Ridge pro Jerry Friend and Kasey Threet of Grove, who is competing as an amateur.

Other Sooners who are playing are Ryan Brooks (Tulsa), Bruno Buccolo (Oklahoma City), Patrick Churchwell (Tulsa), Grant Downey (Sand Springs), Rhein Gibson (Edmond), Stafford Gray (Oklahoma City), Ryan Henry (Broken Arrow), Robert Streb (Edmond) and Hamilton Wheeler (Bethany).

The field will be cut to the low 70 and ties following Friday’s play.

The winner receives $30,000.