Hayden Moss and Ryan Dunbar of Commerce were named the offensive and defensive players of the year in District 2A-8.

Moss captured the offensive POY award after throwing for a school-record 2,328 yards and 25 touchdowns. He completed 141 of his 221 attempts.

He set single game records for completions, 17 against Washington; passing yards, 311 against Nowata, and touchdowns, seven vs. Chelsea.

Nathan Kelly had held the season yardage with 2,180 in 2002.

Dunbar was in on 180 total tackles, including 131 assists and 49 solos.

He also had one sack, one interception, four pass deflections and a fumble recovery.

Adair quarterback Austin Hines was selected as the district’s most valuable player.

Hines completed 166 of 75 passes for 2,866 yards and 41 touchdowns.

He also had 612 yards and 12 touchdowns on 136 rushing attempts.

Eight others locally were named top players at their respective positions.

Those included:

Quarterback of the year — Jordan Burney, Wyandotte;

Offensive linemen of the year — Zane Cheater, Commerce; Race Kinzer, Oklahoma Union; Zak Foster, Caney Valley; Isaiah Meissner, Chelsea, and Levi Shaw, Adair;

Defensive linemen of the year — Kiante Edwards, Commerce, and Cameron Robinson, Wyandotte;

Defensive ends of the year — Kolby Dean, Commerce, and Austin Vacey, Chelsea;

Outside linebacker of the year — Caleb Hurst, Wyandotte;

Defensive backs of the year — Chris Ibarra, Commerce, and Bryce Martin, Adair, and

Special teams players of the year — Trevor Browning, Commerce, and Max Malchow, Adair,

Other position honorees included Casey Armstrong, Oklahoma Union, running back of the year; Brandon Fogle, Caney Valley, wide receiver of the year; Casey Borin, Adair, tight end of the year, and Gunnar Rader, Adair, inside linebacker of the year.

Garrett Long of Adair and Joey Ross of Oklahoma Union were the newcomers of the year in 2A-7.

Injured players honored were Caleb Eulitt and Jesse Cardenas, Commerce, and Blade Lippe and Cole Yoder of Adair.

Rob Gilstrap, who led Adair to a district title and the second round of the Class 2A playoffs in his first year at the helm, was honored as the coach of the year.

Lupe Prado, Caden Pickard, Hunter Burkybile and Jayke Murphy received all-district honors from Commerce.

Wyandotte’s all-district honorees included Trey Jones, Zach Garrett, Justin Campbell, Helawa Williams and Ethan Bradley.

Oscar Gutierrez, Salvador Martinez, Brandon Kelley, Casey Perry, Juan Herrera and Austin Hart of Commerce and Wyandotte’s Roberto Bravo, Evan Logan, Dylon Sparks, Cole Dixon, Bronson Hopper, Ethan Innis, Dalton Leal, Randy Shadwick and Wade Brown received honorable mention recognition.

Others receiving all-district recognition were Justin McCutcheon, Blake Hensley, Jacob Lappe, Derek Eby and Barrett Bradbury, Adair; Brayden Keith, Christian Ballew and Phillip Valentine, Caney Valley; John Humler, Ryan Theall, William Haley and Koda Levan; Hunter Bell and Bryce Hewitt, Nowata, and Seth Long and Hunter Harris, Oklahoma Union.