WYANDOTTE — Wyandotte lineman Zane Cutshaw has been added to the East roster for the Oklahoma Coaches Association all-state football game.

He definitely was surprised to get the news.

“The first thing I thought, to be honest, was ‘holy crap,’” he joked. “I didn’t think this would happen. It’s a really big honor to be selected. Not everybody gets it.”

Zane Cutshaw replaces a player long the defensive line that will be unable to play in the game, which will be Friday, July 28, at Union Tuttle Stadium in Tulsa.

“They told us that his name was on the board,” Homer said. “We knew that if somebody couldn’t play or got hurt, Zane was going to be that next person.”

Players originally selected as defensive linemen were Ryan Patrick, Tulsa Kelley; Devon Bajek, Union; Brendan Evers, Bixby; Garrett Flanary, Tulsa Lincoln Christian; Delvin Jordan, Sand Springs, and Cade Haralson, Davenport.

It’s not known whom Cutshaw replaces. The OCA office was closed Friday.

Daniel Allen of Miami is a member of the East offense. He was selected as an offensive lineman.

Other defensive players picked were Levi Draper, Collinsville; Matt Smith, Kelley; Tack Murray, Okemah; Brandon Billups, Victory Christian; Tanner McElyea, Hominy, and Hunter Perry, Rejoice Christian, linebackers; Malcolm Rodriguez, Wagoner; Drew Barnes, Oologah; Zaven Collins, Hominy; Cameron Curl, Muskogee; Jordan Starks, Union, and Shae Garner, Skiatook, defensive back.

The East offense includes Allen, Orlandis Roberson, Wagoner; Chaz Jimerson, Tahlequah; Christian Maier, Muskogee; Hagen Meservy, Jenks, Trevor Trowbridge, Talihina, and Moses Williams Stroud, offensive linemen; Creed Humphrey, Shawnee, center; B.J. Bradbury, Adair; Tanner Griffin, Bixby, and Jacob Bailey, Berryhill, quarterbacks; Reed Martin, Tulsa Lincoln Christian, Terron Moses, Vian, and Cole Crum, Weleetka, running backs; A.J. Archambo, Bartlesville; England Honeybuss, Cushing; Troy Walker, Berryhill, and Rush O’Connor, Oologah, wide receivers, and Austin Neuhauser, Jenks, kicker.

Harelson and Crum are eight-man players chosen to participate in the game.

Both played in the Oklahoma Eight Man Football Coaches Association all-star game Saturday, June, 17, at Miami’s Red Robertson Field.

“We are extremely proud of him,” Wyandotte head coach Brad Homer said of Cutshaw. “The hard work that he has put in since they came back to Wyandotte has paid off.

“He’s been a leader for our kids.“

His father, Lynn, was the Bears’ head coach from 2004 to 2007. Lynn Cutshaw returned to Wyandotte as a teacher-coach two years ago.

With the addition of the younger Cutshaw, WHS becomes one of a small number of schools to have athletes selected in different sports for the all-state competition July 24-28 in the Tulsa area.

Pitcher Braxton Douthit was named to the Small East baseball team.

The baseball games will be played Tuesday, July 25, at J.L. Johnson Stadium on the Oral Roberts University campus.

The small school game will be at 4:30 p.m., followed by the large school game at 7 p.m.

Also Tuesday are tennis and volleyball.

Wrestling will be at Bixby High School’s Whitey Ford Fieldhouse, and girls’ basketball will be at the ORU’s Mabee Center on Wednesday, July 26.

The boys’ basketball game will be Thursday, July 27, at the Mabee Center.