MIAMI — Eleven scholarships were awarded during the awards banquet Friday, June 16, that was held in conjunction with the Oklahoma Eight Man Football Coaches Association all-star game.

For the third straight year, a Bluejacket player was one of the recipients.

Former Chieftain Kawlin Rogers received a $1,000 scholarship from Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College.

Bluejacket’s Austin Stoner and Dylan Anderson were honored the two previous years.

Colt Crum also received a scholarship from NEO.

Justin Custar of Sharon-Mutual and Lodge Scott of Waurika were the recipients of scholarships from Touchstone Energy, which has been a major game sponsor since the move to Miami in 2003.

Tanner Hurst of Tyrone and Cody Hilbert of Depew received scholarships from Oklahoma Farm Bureau, which is back on board as a major corporate sponsor this year.

Curan Olsen of Waynoka and Trey Allen of Laverne picked up the scholarships from Dr. Sean O’Brien and the Oklahoma Center for Orthopedics and Sports Medicine.

Tracer Raven of Laverne was awarded a $1,000 scholarship from longtime eight-man supporter Alert Services.

Haven Davis of Cherokee and Karlee Gholson of Waurika were awarded $500 cheerleading scholarships from the Oklahoma Eight Man Football Coaches Association.

Bill Pingleton, who compiled a 43-7 record from 1980-84 while winning three state titles at Pernell, was inducted into the OEMFCA Hall of Fame.

Larry Milligan, Binger-Oney High School principal and quarterback on the Longhorns’ back-to-back state football titles, introduced Pingleton.

“Coach was one of those guys that we came first,” Milligan said. “He wasn’t our high school coach. He was our best friend. He was our other dad. He was an uncle. He was whatever we needed at that time.”

In addition to coaching football, Pingleton coached track (the Longhorns also won a Class B state title title in 1984) and taught biology.

“I would like to thank the eight-man coaches association for this honor,” said Pingleton, who also was recognized at the half of Saturday night’s football game. He coached in the game twice when it was played in Enid.

“I really appreciate it,” Pingleton said. “It’s an honor to be a part of this thing. I didn’t even know you had a hall of fame. When I was coaching, you didn’t, so this is a blessing.”

There were four different winners in the player of the year competition.

Allen was the top offensive player and Cody Harelson of Davenport the defensive honoree in Class B.

In Class C, Gabe Scabby of state champ Tipton was the defensive POY and Derek Holcomb of runner-up Pond Creek-Hunter claimed the top offensive honor.

Blake Lamle of Shattuck was coach of the year and Laverne’s Tanner Woods was assistant of the year in Class B.

Travis White of Tipton was the top head coach and John Claborn of Pond Creek Hunter the assistant of the year in C.

Winners in the combine competition, conducted by the Golden Norse coaching staff, were Zach Birdwell, Coyle; Tucker Mora, Waurika, and David W. Dye, Weleetka.

Players went through two 40-yard dashes, two pro shuttle runs and the standing broad jump, similar to what players go thru at the NFL Combine and at NEO prospect camps.

The OEMFCA executive committee — vice president Larry Crenshaw, president Bryce Schanbacher, associate director Josh Been and executive director Mike Thompson — were also recognized.

Also recognized were members of the coaching staff and counselors for the game.

Coaches included Chris Cayot, Laverne; Brandon Bookout, Waukomis; Steve Wilson, Geary; Glenn Howard, Waurika; Lee Bluejacket, Maysville; Neal Bacon, Depew; Josh Bell, Tyrone; David Kerr, Pond Creek-Hunter, and James Worley, Davenport.

Counselors were Mark Timberlake, Waukomis; Johnie Loggins, Sasakwa; Clay Witt, Tyrone; Tom Osburn, Cave Springs; Johnny Ray, Prue, and Travis Banning, Tyrone.

Among the cheerleaders participating were Lesly Arriaga of Turpin, Trena Bartlett of Sasakwa, Samantha Carry of Keota, Ashlyn Bales of Davenport, Bailee Brown of Corn Bible Academy, Haven Davis of Cherokee, Destiny Followill of Keota, Amy Nicole Freeman of Corn Bible Academy, Karlee Belle Gholson of Waurika, Jaqueline Guarjardo of Laverne, Shelby Jones of Keota, Alyssa RaeAnn Masoner of Waurika, Erica Hildinger of Timberlake, Rachel Keith of Davenport, Allyson McClary of Keota, Danaca Southern of Strother, Ashley Vega of Strother, Katelyn Weber of Davenport, and Randee Marie Taylor of Sasakwa.

Jim Ellis is sports editor of the Miami News-Record. He can be reached at 918-542-5508 or by email at Follow him on Twitter @mnrsportsguy.