AFTON — The Mounds girls and Kansas boys captured titles at the 29th Afton Coca-Cola Classic.

The girls’ championship pitted a pair of ranked teams. Mounds, ranked 13th in Class 2A, held on for a 51-48 victory over 3A No. 8 Kansas.

Kansas won the boys’ crown with a 56-38 romp over Mounds.

The Mounds’ girls used a 34-28 edge in the second half to pull out their win.

The Lady Tigers (4-0) trailed 12-5 and 20-17 after the first two quarters.

But Mounds went up 38-31 in the third thanks to a 21-11 margin, then held on as the Lady Comets (4-1) held a 17-13 advantage over the final eight minutes.

Sydney Newberry had a game-high 19 points for Mounds.

Newberry was named the MVP. She had 61 points in the Lady Tigers’ three tournament games.

Cheyanne Crain, named to the all-tournament team, added 12 points.

Aiden Jones and Emma Kirk were Kansas’ leaders with 17 and 16 points respectively.

Joining Crain on the all-tournament team were Carlee Shinn and Daylee Osburn, of Afton, and Jones and Teri Leaf, of Kansas.

Kansas 56, Mounds 38

A 32-15 advantage in the middle two quarters helped the Comets claim their fourth title in seven years.

Kansas (4-0) held a 13-10 edge in the first quarter then outscored the Tigers 17-9 and 15-6 in the middle two frames.

Mounds held a 13-11 edge in the fourth quarter.

Tourney MVP Kalin Parson had a game-high 20 points for Kansas.

He was joined in double figures by Dylan Siers, who added 13.

Brandon Ertel had 15 points and Brendon Brazille added 13 for Mounds (3-1).

The all-tournament team included Siers and Keelan Davis of Kansas, Sam Nelson and Seth Simpson of Mounds, and Bryson Cottrell of Fairland.