Nancy Turlington, formerly of Miami, has been named the 2010 Oklahoma Principal of Excellence by the Oklahoma Association of Elementary Principals. Turlington was honored at the OAESP Awards Ceremony in Oklahoma City on June 10. She was also recognized as the Administrator of the Year for District 8A which consists of Creek, Lincoln, and Okfuskee counties.

Criteria for both awards includes being a principal for at least 5 years, maintaining high expectations of students and staff, showing evidence of outstanding contributions to her school and profession, and being an established, respected member of the community.

Turlington graduated from Afton High School, NEO A&M in Miami, Oklahoma State University, and Northeastern State University. She taught 10 years in the Afton Public Schools. She is currently principal of Freedom Elementary, An Oklahoma A+ School and a Great Expectations Model School in Sapulpa.