Oklahoma City - Gov. Henry has requested that President Bush grant public assistance to 24 Oklahoma counties impacted by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding between June 3 and June 20.

If approved, the designation would deliver federal funding to assist cities, towns and counties with infrastructure repairs and costs associated with responding to the storms.

Ottawa County is among the counties proposed for public assistance. Also included are Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Cotton, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grant, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Kay, Kiowa, Major, Okfuskee, Osage, Roger Mills, Rogers, Tillman, Washita and Woods counties. Other counties can be added to the request as additional information becomes available.

“Severe storms throughout June have caused significant damages in these counties, particularly with regard to roads, bridges and rural electric cooperatives,” Gov. Henry said. “Federal assistance is greatly needed and warranted, and I hope President Bush will act quickly to approve the request.”

The storms resulted in an estimated more than $9.6 million in infrastructure damage and response costs.