An incumbent school board candidate in Miami is contesting the candidate filing of her only opposer.

Donni Turner filed a petition with the Ottawa County Election Board on Friday alleging that Tommie Jean Ballard does not live within the boundaries of Ward 4.

Turner said Monday that she believes Ballard intended to file in Ward 3, but inadvertently filed in Ward 4.

Turner said Monday that the responsible decision is to contest the race and spare the school board the expense of an election.

Mark Folks, who was appointed to fill a vacancy on the Miami School Board earlier this year, drew no opponent for district’s only other possible race.

“If I do not contest this, the school district will have to pay for an election,” Turner said. “That is a $5,000 expense. There are other places we could spend that money.”

Ballard filed for candidacy with an address of 9990 S 490 Rd., according to the Ottawa County Election Board.

The validity of Turner’s contestation will be determined in a hearing set for 10 a.m. Wednesday on the second floor of the new Ottawa County Courthouse.

The News-Record was unable to make contact with Ballard prior to deadline.

Fifteen additional candidate bids were offered during last week’s three-day filing period.

Following are the filings and races by district.

Afton — Samuel Grant Victor Jr., incumbent, and Rebecca Anne Hallett. Both seek the Ward 4 board position.

Commerce — Ricky D. Brown, incumbent, and Kenny Smith will campaign for the Ward 1 seat. Jim Cossairt, incumbent, is unopposed in his bid to retain the Ward 4 seat.

Fairland — Mark Detherage, Ward 4 incumbent, will face Lisa Severe. Don Goins also filed to run for the Ward 4 seat, but later withdrew his bid.

Picher-Cardin — Todd R. Barnes filed in Ward 2 and DAniel W. Blevins filed in Ward 4. There will be not race in that district.

Quapaw — Troy Howard Thompson, incumbent, will face William D. Nichols in a race for the Ward 4 seat.

Turkey Ford — Patricia Armstrong is unopposed in her bid for the Ward 3 seat.

Wyandotte — Russell McCloud Jr. and Tim Stone filed for seats in Ward 1 and Ward 4 respectively. There will be no race in that district.

Also, Craig Eubanks filed for candidacy in the Zone 4 race for the Northeast Technology Center.