Top awards were presented Saturday night during an awards banquet which concluded the OPA's annual convention in Oklahoma City.

OKLAHOMA CITY — The Miami News-Record received recognition in nine categories Saturday, June 10 at the Oklahoma Press Association’s Better Newspaper Contest for the 2016 publishing year.

Top awards were presented Saturday night during an awards banquet which concluded the OPA’s annual convention in Oklahoma City.

MNR placed first in News Content in Division 3, which includes daily papers with a circulation of less than 5,000.

In addition to the first-place finish for News Content, the News-Record was also recognized as the second place winner for Sports Coverage, third place winner for In-Depth Enterprise and Photography, and fourth place winner for Editorial Comment and Feature Writing in our division.

Additional OPA awards included recognition for Layout & Design, Sales Promotion, and Advertising.

"The accolades for these wins belong to Jim Ellis who was acting as both the managing editor and the sports editor during most of the 2016 publishing year," said current News-Record managing editor Dorothy Ballard. "Together with lead reporter and associate editor Melinda Stotts and former staff writer Kimberly Barker, MNR really produced an excellent community paper for 2016. I cannot wait to bolster us even further in 2017."

Sister Publication Awards

Members of The Delaware County Journal won first place for News Content, and second for In-Depth Enterprise in Division 8 (semi-, twin or tri-weekly).

The Grove Sun earned first place in Advertising, Personal Columns, News Writing, and Community Leadership, as well as second in In-Depth Enterprise, third in Editorial Comment and fourth in News Content, Layout & Design, Ad Series, and Sports coverage.

Additionally, The Grove Sun came in second, 20 points behind the winner, The El Reno Tribune, for the Sequoyah Award for Division 8.

The Sequoyah is the highest honor given to newspapers in the OPA Better Newspaper Contest.

Complete results of the 2016 Oklahoma Press Better Newspaper Contest awards may be found here: